Be Still And Allow The Master To Work

My mind lately has been going a mile a minute.  There seems to be a lot of “things” happening around me, but I just can’t seem to put my finger on what those “things” are exactly.  What I do know, is that I am coming into a season of growing…again.  I have behaviors that I desperately need to break and that God wants to “chisel” off of me.  I’ve spent the last few weeks working out what it is that God is wanting me to do to work on breaking those behaviors.  What keeps coming to the forefront are a few things.

  1. I need to do a Tongue Fast again.
  2. Extremely limit my time on Facebook.
  3. Unplug from things and set strict time limits.
  4. Sit outside, in the quiet, and listen.

I did a Tongue Fast a few years back.  For me, that consisted of not speaking and only writing everything down that I wanted to say.  If I was happy, I had to write it.  If I was mad, I had to write it.  The purpose was to SEE the words that I would normally speak.  By seeing what I would say, it made me think about whether it was really worth saying.  How many words had I wasted because they were hastily spoken, without thought?  It’s time for a refresher of seeing the words again.  James 1:19 tells us, Understand this, my dear brothers and sisters: You must all be quick to listen, SLOW TO SPEAK, and slow to get angry.  I need to slow my “speak” down.

I need to limit my Facebook and other electronics time drastically.  These things are doing nothing but wasting time and affect my emotions and attitude towards my family and others.  I have a tendency to be reactory when my anxiety about something is triggered.  By constantly having Facebook or other media in my face, I keep myself in that heightened state of anxiety and tension.  Which in turn makes me short with others and quick to get angered.  It leaves my mind in a constant whirl and makes it nearly impossible to find stillness.  Scripture tells us to “Be STILL and KNOW that I am God” (Psalm 46:10).  How is that possible when we leave no room for stillness?  Which leads to my last point…

Nature is very healing.  There is a rawness to it that when we sit and observe, we see that life isn’t as complicated as we make it.  There is a simpleness in the ebb and flow of each day.  That simpleness gets lost by the noise that we allow in.  Most of the excess noise is nothing more than a distraction from the simpleness that God wants with us.  Just to sit and listen.  Only then will the calm & peace come.  It’s time for me to be still.  This process of molding and shaping is going to be painful.  It may be my most painful yet.  I will be forced to face things about myself and my past that I’ve wanted to ignore.  That stillness with God will become more important that anything else.  Only in the stillness with Him will my true healing and change begin.

When was the last time you were able to truly “be still”?  Something to really think about.  =)  Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

