Hello. Who Are You Again?

Hi!  I feel like I should reintroduce myself since I manged to fall off the face of the earth.  Actually, after my last post (of being on the mend), I ended up getting more sick.  The pneumonia came back full force, only this time in both lungs.  Needless to say, I was dead to the world and writing was the farthest thing from my mind.  So, I have no new update for you except that I did continue to lose.  I just don’t know exactly how much since I’m still coming off of the steroid that the doctor had me on.

Life still continued to go on while I was busy making sure the couch didn’t float away.  We were really worried about that happening, so I felt like it was my duty to prevent it.  I am happy to report that the couch is in fact still sitting in my living room.  While, I was securing it to the floor, Tevis (being the wonderful man that he is) painted the living room.  Finally, we are starting to update the house.  It was going to be “our” project, but I offered moral support (from the couch, of course).

A couple days ago was our 17th wedding anniversary.  It’s so funny to sit and stare at him and think about us.  We have this joke about how I stalked him.  In high school, I worked at Taco Bell.  So did a friend of mine (Derrick) who wasn’t allowed to work on Wednesdays or Sundays because of church.  One Wednesday night, after church, Derrick and a friend came in to get something to eat.  He asked me if he could bum a couple cigarettes and while he was filling his drink, I went to the break-room to get my cigarette pack.  When I came back, Derrick’s friend was standing there at the counter.  I handed him the cigarettes, he turned and walked away, saying nothing at all to me.  (We have long since quit smoking.)

The next day, Derrick and I were sitting in the break-room, getting ready to clock-in.  I said, “Derrick, I don’t know who that guy is that you brought in with you last night, but I’m going to marry him!”  He said, “Who?  Tevis?” “Is that the guy with the long hair and ripped jeans?  Yes!  Him.”  Derrick just laughed at me.  That’s when I made sure that I was wherever Tevis was.  I started going to his youth group.  Started drinking Dr. Pepper (YUCK!).  Started going with the crew after youth to wherever it was that they went to eat.  Yet, he would never talk.  Or I would only get one word answers (he’s an introvert).  This went on for months.

Spring Break came and for some strange reason we had 3 feet of snow…IN MARCH!  I got the nerve up to call him and see if I could come over. Southern Indiana doesn’t do well with a lot of snow, but I was willing to risk it to be able to pursue the man I was going to marry.  Whatever it took! I made it to his house, his parents were gone to the grocery and I had to park at the end of the driveway because of all the snow.  I made it into the house and for 3 hours all we did was sit and watch TV…in silence.  Not one word was said….oh and I had to pee.  Really?  Now?  There is NO WAY that I’m going to let him know that!  Finally, I gave in and asked where the bathroom was.

His parents came home and were shocked that he had a girl over.  I was the only one he had ever had over.  I stayed a little while longer and then headed home, feeling like this was a complete disaster.  Especially since the only talking done was me asking for a potty!

After that, we started talking every night on the phone.  I forgot to mention that he lived in a different county and went to a different school, so it took effort to stalk him.  We learned a lot about each other and in May (22nd to be exact) while I was getting ready for Youth and talking to him on the phone, I finally mustered the courage to ask him to go out with me.  He said yes.  Though years later, I asked him why he said yes, and he told me that it was because he hadn’t had a girlfriend in a while…sure whatever.  It didn’t matter, because 3 years later (almost exactly), I married him!  Who’s laughing now!  HA!

wpid-fb_img_1448042607772.jpg

Yep, I love him!

We are buddies.  I like him.  He’s fun.  Sure we fight, but we can cut up and hang out and just have fun together like 2 friends…but we have benefits.  I laugh at people who say love at first sight isn’t real.  Was it love?  No.  Was I twitterpated?  Yes!  Real love changes and evolves and deepens with time.  But, I knew.  I knew the minute I saw him.  I knew he was the one and nobody was going to tell me any different.

Every time Destiny has talked to me about a crush she has had, I have always asked her 3 questions.

  1. Can you see yourself married to him?
  2. Can you see the man that he is?
  3. Can you see the man that he can/will be (with age and maturity)?

She has never been able to answer those questions until last year.  Its been awesome to watch her and Sam’s relationship develop and to see the foundation that they are building.  They’re relationship has mirrored our relationship so much (timeline-wise) it’s scary.  But, she knew.  She knew he was it and nobody was going to tell her any different, either…wonder why she’s so headstrong?!?

Anyway,  Tevis is amazing and sexy and loving.  We’ve been to hell and back together.  Still, he stood there.  Strong and tall.  I adore him.  He’s became the man that I saw in him 20 years ago.  He is my Mr. Steady.  He loves me.  All of me.  Even the ugly side of me.  That takes courage on his part, because I can be pretty mean when I’m upset.  He keeps me grounded, yet lets me fly.  He’s my rocker…even though he won’t grow his hair back out.  I.Love.Him.  And nothing is going to change that.  =)  Be Blessed!

2 responses to “Hello. Who Are You Again?

  1. Okay, I’m SO glad you shared how you met Tevis, because even though you and I went to school together, I had no idea where Tevis came from. One day, he was just kind of someone you mentioned (I think in Spanish class maybe? I remember that being one of the only classes we had together) and Hanover isn’t exactly a large place, but I had NO idea who the heck he was. LOL. Mystery solved! Congrats to you on such a long, amazing relationship!!!

Leave a Reply

