My Journey To Health…The Challenge of A Bathtub

relaxing-in-a-tub

Bubbles.  Warm water.  Candles.  Music.  Book.  Ahhh…there is nothing like taking a nice, long, relaxing bath…in a tub.  That is unless you are fluffy.  Very fluffy.  The ginormous spa tubs don’t count.  Those are made to fit a party in.  I’m talking about just a regular ol’ standard tub.

I’m about to admit something totally embarrassing and I’m sure you have no interest in knowing, but I’m going to tell you anyway.  I have not been able to fit into a regular bathtub for about 5 years.  Technically I could, but I would be squeezed in like a squished up marshmallow trying to fit into a bottle.  Water displacement was a science lesson each time, since water couldn’t even get around me.  It would just pool in front of me and no water could get to the back of the tub.  Unless…I managed to roll myself over and allow it to pass.  Then when I would step out of the tub, I would see that really there was only about 1 1/2 gallons (might have been a little more) of water in the tub because I took up the rest of it.  Like I said…totally embarrassing.  So, I quit taking baths and only took showers.  What was the point.  It was utterly depressing…until Friday.

Thursday I had my 3rd Lymphatic Therapy session.  This time she covered more of my body and we finally heard this one node open up (don’t ask me to pronounce it, I would butcher it.)  Late that night, I got really sick.  Nausea, chills, headache, body aches, ect.  Felt like I had been hit with the flu.  I went back over the possible side effects and these were all a part of it.  I texted April (my therapist) and told her.  She informed me that I was detoxing A LOT and needed to drink only water with lemon (to flush it out) and to take a bath with Epsom Salt and baking soda.  ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?!  A BATH?!?  Forget it!  I can’t fit!  There’s no way.  There’s just no way.  I refuse.  I’m NOT going to do it.  You can’t make me.

4 hours later, I broke down.  Fine.  I’ll try it.  What’s one more disappointment.  I start to run the water and put the stuff in so it can dissolve.  I stand there, staring at this ominous task in front of me.  I can hear the tub laughing at me like, “you really think YOU’LL fit in HERE?  Hahahaha.”  I proceed to step in and lower myself into the tub.  Moment of truth.  And then…it happened.  I sat perfectly into the tub.  And this wasn’t just a standard tub.  THIS was an old cast iron tub.  It’s smaller than a standard tub.  And the best part…water went around me.  Even though it was just a little, it was moving water.  I was no longer a like a dam.  WOOHOO!!!  I’M NOT A DAM ANYMORE!!!

It’s been funny to me to realize the things that have awed me the most.  I thought it would be being able to fit into some new outfit or something like that.  It hasn’t been.  It’s been being able to see my leg again.  Or seeing the bones in my feet.  Or that look in Tevis’s eyes when I was showing him my calf and ankle and he feels how “normal” it is now.  And now, fitting into a tub.  It’s been too long.  There are so many things that we forget about once we’ve gotten used to not being able to see, use, or do them.  It’s those little things that I’m excited to keep noticing.  It’s like a newborn experiencing things for the first time.  Amazing.

So this week, treat yourself to a nice bubble bath.  Here’s a link to a few great recipes to help you out.  You are worth it.  Believe that.  It will lift your spirits greatly!  It did mine.  =)  Be Blessed!

2 responses to “My Journey To Health…The Challenge of A Bathtub

Leave a Reply

