My Journey To Health…Week 6 Update & Setback

This week has been busy again, but I made sure that I was able to get at least 3 days of walking in.  I have to tell you, though, we discovered a MAJOR blunder.  The scale that we had been using to weigh…IS A LIAR!  And not in a good way.  We had suspected it, but confirmed it last night.

This is what we know.  I do not weigh what I have been reporting.  My starting weight was actually MORE (Oh the discouragement!)  So, we’re not really sure what I have actually lost in pounds.  My measurements though, are correct.

I measured this morning, and to add to the discouragement of last night, I have actually gained a couple of inches.  I will honestly say that giving up crossed my mind.  This has always been the pattern and it is what I have been afraid of happening.  For some reason, this past week I have been craving sweet things, which I don’t normally do.  Last night, I had grapes with cool whip.  It’s just been crazy.  I cannot have a “cheat” day.  It wreaks havoc on me.  It’s really sad that I have to be as strict as I do, but if I’m not, I pay for it…BIG TIME!

And now, I sit here almost in tears, for multiple reasons.  1) The weight blunder.  2) Eating more sugar this week than I should have and knowing exactly what it’s going to do to me.  3) I’ve been working out, yet my legs from the knees up haven’t budged really in loss.  They look like Squidward when he ate all the Crabby Pattys and Spongebob told him they would go to his thighs.  My legs from the knees down have lost.  So, I look like this misproportioned mess.

BUT…in the midst of all this…I have had this brand new pair of jeans in my drawer that I’ve been hanging onto for the last several years.  Since my only other pair of jeans is now very baggy, I thought I better try them on before I went and purchased anything else (jeans are expensive when you are heavy!)  I normally wear a 26.  I wasn’t too hopeful with this, especially after all the setbacks.  I slipped them on and THEY FIT!  They are snug, but they fit.  I can button them and everything!  And guess what?!?!  THEY ARE SIZE 22!  A 24 would fit better but I wouldn’t be in them long at all.  Maybe 2 weeks.  Here’s where I am now (in the new jeans!):

(See how my legs are?  The lose at the bottom but not from the knee up.)

(See how my legs are? The lose at the bottom but not from the knee up.)

I don’t have any new numbers to post this week since it’s all a mess.  I can give you our new starting point for weight though.  We have a regular doctor scale that we are able to use each week now.  YAY for accuracy!

New Starting Weight: 342

Total inches lost: 29.5

My goal for this week is to put myself back on track.  Really dig in and find recipes that aren’t just getting me by on calories but are really feeding my body the nutrients that it needs to be healthy.  I also have my second Lymphatic Therapy session tomorrow.  I’ll fill you in on this once I know a little more.  I will also be interviewing the lady doing it so you will have a better understanding of what it is.

I have had to have many talks with myself this past week to keep going and to keeping pressing on.  I wanted to give up.  But what would I have gained?  I would end up back at the beginning feeling worse than I did.  I head back to the scripture I’ve been using for this whole process.  1 Corinthians 6:19-20, Or do you not know that your BODY IS A TEMPLE OF THE HOLY SPIRIT within you, whom you have from God?  You are not your own, for you were bought with a price.  SO GLORIFY GOD IN YOU BODY.  Keep reminding yourself of that and let it really sink in.  It’s a new day.  Time to try again!  =)  Be Blessed!

2 responses to “My Journey To Health…Week 6 Update & Setback

Leave a Reply

