My Journey To Health…Week 3

How has your week gone?  Mine had some definite surprises, especially from myself.

I was reading over 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 again.  This time I read it through a different translation.  Here’s how the Message Bible has it…

Or didn’t you realize that your body is a sacred place, the place of the Holy Spirit? Don’t you see that you can’t live however you please, squandering what God paid such a high price for? The physical part of you is not some piece of property belonging to the spiritual part of you.  God owns the whole works. So let people see God in and through your body.

The part I made bold is what stood out to me.  Especially the word “squandering”.  Squander means to spend extravagantly or foolishly; to cause to disperse; to lose through negligence or inaction.

To lose through negligence or inaction.  Wow.  That’s exactly what has happened to me.  I tried to live however I pleased and I was inactive and I was negligent with my health and that is what has caused me to get where I am.  I took for granted my body and health, but, NOT ANY MORE!

I have come further than I ever have before.  I may not have lost as much yet, but I’ve come further because I am mentally different (which will be a post for another time).  The fight is not always with our bodies but with our minds.  I choose to NOT squander anymore what God has given me and the place where he dwells.

So, what’s happened this past week?  My goal for last week was to walk a mile.  I’ve blown through that and I’m at 2 miles and at times 2.5 miles (when I’m in rare form).  My goal for this week is to work toward a consistent 2.5 miles.  What about my losses for the week?

Starting weight: 351.5

Current weight: 344

Total loss: 7.5 lbs.

Total inches lost: 25

I want to tell you YOU CAN DO IT!!!!  If I can, then SO CAN YOU!  Sometimes we just need that little push from behind.  Consider this your push!  I want to hear from you if you are on a health journey or just starting one.  I want to hear about your successes AND your stumblings (I’ll have them too).  Yet I know, WE CAN DO IT!  We just have to believe in ourselves.  =)  Be Blessed!
get started

Leave a Reply

