My Journey To Health…Starting Point

Me at my biggest

At my highest weight

Hi!  My name is Melissa and I have struggled with my weight for close to 20 years now.  I never have bought into fad diets, since I have seen first hand their yo-yo effect on the body, so I never have done them.  I have always tried to focus on actually feeding my body with living foods.  Yet, even with doing that, the weight always stayed…and then got worse.  I always knew there was something more going on, but every doctor that I had check on other things that could be causing it said that I was normal and fine.  I knew that couldn’t be right.

God doesn’t want us to be in poor physical health.  This is his Temple where His Holy Spirit resides.  We all like to live in a nice house, why wouldn’t God?  But, being in poor health effects a lot of things.  I’ve grown tired of always feeling ran down, no energy and in pain.  Granted, I have another issue with severe anemia (that’s not iron based), which they don’t know what’s causing it, but I wanted to know more about the weight.

So, long story short…my thyroid is a mess.  I have started a natural med for it and been on it almost a week now.  Granted, I know that it might take bit to really do anything, but I’m feeling better.  I have a bit more energy and I’ve been eating even better and walking.  I have a friend who is on this journey with me and I am SOOO thankful for her.  She also pushed me because she knows how stubborn and bull-headed I am.  Tevis is walking with me too when my friend and I don’t get to walk.  I’m up to a half mile.  This weeks challenge is to try to shoot for a mile.

I want to document this for a couple of reasons:

1) To be an encouragement to others

2) For accountability

3) For my own record, to be able to see it for myself what I’ve overcome

So, here is where I begin and the old me ends.  I have to be able to get on the floor with my grandkids someday.  I don’t want to be stuck in a chair and unable to enjoy life with them.  Time to stop watching life pass me by and me just being in the audience.  =)  Be Blessed!

7 responses to “My Journey To Health…Starting Point

  1. Melissa, U can do it. It will challenge everything that God Has fearfullu & wonderfully created U to be. I know this to br true for I lost 100 plus lbs 27 yrs ago, competed & won 1st place in Bodybuilding and Changed careers to be a Personal Trainer & Pilates Instructor. Now, I am recovering from a stroke this past Dec 26th 2014. Stronger and no visible physical debilitation. I am GOOD to GO!! MELISSA, YOU CAN DO IT!! Remeber ALL things work together for those that Love God…Rom.8:28. Your weight struggle trust me is and will be a Blessing and a gift to U and all those whose read your blog. God Bless U & SUSTAIN U in your journey Melissa!!!

    • Oh my goodness! Thank you for the encouragement! There is definitely something different this time. I have no doubt that it will be a blessing. I am seeing it just from this first post on it. I have received several messages about it. All I can say is “use me, Lord! LET’S DO THIS!” Thank you for telling me of your story! It gives me great hope! =)

    • Melissa Know that You ARE WHERE AND DOIG WHAT THE LORD HAD ALREADY PLANNED FOR YOU!! KEEP “PRESSING TOWRDS THE MARK & GOAL OF THE HIGH CALLING OF GOD IN CHRIST JESUS!!

Leave a Reply

