Those Misspoken Words

What a treat today has been.  It’s been rainy and cloudy.  We had a coupon for Chili’s for the kids to eat free, so we hopped in the car and went for lunch.  Can’t beat feeding a family of 4 at a sit-down restaurant for $15!  What great conversation we had.  It was nice to be able to sit and Hunter not be bouncing off the walls (though he did plenty of that once we left!)  The thing that has been a reoccurring theme for today has been misspoken words.  Mainly from the kids.  It had me thinking about all the things that we say everyday that don’t come out the way we were meaning.  For example, we were talking about the bartender and what he does.  We were explaining to the kids that not just anybody could be a bartender but if they are good at it, it does pay well.  The next question asked was, “Do they get laid?”  Tevis and just stopped and looked at Destiny.  Needless to say, she was laughing hysterically because what she meant to say was “Do they have it made?”  Such a simple mistake.  Interestingly, she didn’t really know what it meant that she had said.  Another example was this evening.  I had walked into the kitchen with Tevis and we were talking about what I was going to make for supper.  I told him that I couldn’t do anything until it was cleaned up (I will explain more on that when I tell you about our new adventure).  Hunter, not missing a beat, says “MOM!  Don’t worry about it!  Don’t cook!  We can just eat scraps!”  Tevis and I lost it!  He was meaning leftovers.

How easily it is that we misspeak things.  There are many, many scriptures about speaking; what we speak, how we speak, etc.  We are to be careful in what we speak.  I have to say I fail at this DAILY!!!!  I have a sarcastic sense of humor and that is not always in my favor.  I have been known, on occasion, to have a quip that has went to far.  I later run through it again and again in my mind.  Proverbs 12:18 says, Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.  I have to ask myself “is what I’m speaking healing or hurting?”  Most times I ask it a little too late.  We speak so carelessly anymore.  We have gotten away from realizing how much weight our words carry.  God still expects the same from them today as he did then.  He intends us to use our words wisely and to use them to build others up.  Take a look:

The tongue has the power of life and death.  (Proverbs 18:21)

The heart of the righteous weighs its answers, but the mouth of the wicked gushes evil. (Proverbs 15:28)

Through patience a ruler can be persuaded, and a gentle tongue can break a bone. (Proverbs 25:15) 

The tongue of the wise commends knowledge, but the mouth of the fool gushes folly. (Proverbs 15:2)

The quiet words of the wise are more to be heeded than the shouts of a ruler of fools. (Ecclesiastes 9:17)

We are to speak softly and with wisdom.  And being slow to speak leaves room for the wisdom.  We need to be more responsible for the words that we speak and how they are spoken.  Matthew 12:36 says, Men will have to give account on the day of judgment for every careless word they have spoken.  I will need to remind myself more often of the account that I will have to give of my careless words.  What would that account look like?  I don’t know if I really want to know.  As of today though, today is my day to start anew.  I love how God uses my kids to reveal things to me.  He’s not done with me yet!  =)  Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

