Are You A Lioness?

I started reading a new book last night.  I cannot WAIT to finish it!  It’s called Lioness Rising by Lisa Bevere.  I have only read the first chapter but WOW!  We, as women, so often walk around timid and fearful that we avoid stepping into the strength that God wants us to walk in.  The passage of scripture that she saw in her vision was Numbers 23.  More precisely Numbers 23 19-24.  It says, God is not a man, so he does not lie.  He is not human, so he does not change his mind.  Has he ever spoken and failed to act?  Has he ever promised and not carried it through?  Listen, I received a command to bless;  God has blessed, and I cannot reverse it!  No misfortune is in his plan for Jacob; no trouble is in store for Israel.  For the Lord their God is with them; he has been proclaimed their king.  God brought them out of Egypt; for them he is as strong as a wild ox.  No curse can touch Jacob; no magic has any power against Israel.  For now it will be said of Jacob, ‘What wonders God has done for Israel!’  These people rise up like a lioness, like a majestic lion rousing itself.  They refuse to rest until they have feasted on prey, drinking the blood of the slaughtered!”  

As wives and mothers, we need to be more bold to stand in the gap for our children and families.  To be a prayer warrior for them and be the nurturing strength so we can raise our children with the love and devotion that God calls us to have.  If we refer back the P31 Woman in Proverbs 31:10-31, we can see that she was not this timid, fragile being, but a strong, bold woman who was versatile and a treasure.  She WAS a lioness!

Something I have realized over the last few weeks is that I have let too many things get in my way of doing what it is that God has called me to do.  So much so, that I’ve gotten to the point where I am confused about what I’m called to do.  I have worn and currently wear so many hats (and I’m good at them all), but it creates too many choices and noise that it takes me away from focusing on what I’m supposed to be doing.  I am so thankful though for all the challenges and obsticles that we have had along the way.  The opportunities that have been present for us to walk through to grow our faith and trust in God and to start to see what he is molding us into.

I’m excited about the prospects of being able to be of use.  To function as “me” once again.  Only this time with a better understanding of what “me” is.  Not just as a wife and mother but as a daughter of the Almighty.  As a lioness of the mighty Lion.  How awesome is that going to be!  Are you ready to be the lioness that God is calling you to be?  To walk in the confidence of knowing that you are called to serve Him in a way that is most pleasing to Him.  He gave us all the tools and gifts that we need.  He equipped us for the task at hand.  Will it be challenging?  Yes.  Will it be without struggle?  No.  Will it be totally rewarding and fulfilling?  You betcha!

So, today I stand up.  I am so excited about the new adventure and journey that God is putting us on.  I see SO MUCH opportunity to make a difference in people’s lives in different ways.  All I have to do is to finally step forth, put the distractions behind me and walk.  Walk in His strength, confidence and encouragement.  He knows what I’m capable of.  I just have to listen to Him and BELIEVE it.  Can you do the same?  Step out and be the lioness that He wants you do be.  You won’t regret it!  =)  Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

