The Joyful Help Meet

To continue on the topic of the Help Meet from yesterday, I thought I would post a past writing.  I strongly encourage you to get this book and read it.  It was definitely an eye opener and has been a huge help in our family.  =)

I’ve been reading this book called Created To Be His Help Meet by Debi Pearl.  I will tell you now that if you are a supporter of the feminist movement, you will not like this book.  I have to say though, that I have LOVED it so far.  It is amazing how far off the path we have gotten as far as our divine calling as women/wives.

What is so great about it is that it really gets to the heart of our role as wives.  We set the tone of our homes.  I think we often forget that.  We have also become discontented with so many things that we often lose our joy.
I just got done covering the chapter on joy.  At the end of it, it has a page for reflection.  This was a kick in the pants for me.  “Joy is a fruit of the Spirit.  If you are a child of God, joy will be a visible reality in your life.”  It goes on to ask 7 questions:

1) Where does joy start?
2) Have I been discontent about my lot in life?  Am I, on occasion, a “poor-me” person?
3) Do I verbally show thanksgiving every day?
4) Do I daily remember to thank God for my husband?
5) Would my friends describe me as joyful, thankful and content?
6) How can I add practicing joy and thanksgiving to my life?
7) Am I willing to lay down my grievance toward my husband for the hope of a heavenly marriage?

Like I said, it was a kick in the pants.  We were created to be his help meet.  We are equipped in every way to be his helper.  Being thankful results in true joy.  It is a beauty that is far above looks.  It is something that men see.  You will shine.  What a blessing it is to have a joyful wife.  By being joyful you will learn that the things that bugged you before are far less.  Being thankful in all things leads to the joyfulness in them also.

Galatians 5:22-23 says, But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control.  Against such things there is no law.  The Spirit produces these character traits that are found in the nature of Christ.  They are the by-products of Christ’s control- we can’t obtain them by “trying” to get them without His help.  We must know Him, love Him, remember Him, and imitate Him.  By doing so, we will be fulfilling our purpose of our husband’s help meet, the way God intended us to do.  With all the fruit’s of the Spirit.

We were a gift to man.  Don’t let that go to your head.  We were a gift to complete him.  To help.  When we submit to our husbands, we are really submitting to the authority of God.  The word submit has gotten a bad wrap.  It’s not meaning for your husband to walk all over you.  “God made you to be a help meet to your husband so you can bolster him, making him more productive and efficient at whatever he chooses to do.  You are not on the board of directors with an equal vote.  You have no authority to set the agenda.  But if he can trust you, he will make you his closest advisor, his confidante, his press secretary, his head of state, his vice-president, his ambassador, his public relations expert, maybe even his speech writer- all at his discretion.”  He is the head of the house for a reason.  Let him lead.  And be joyful in letting him do that.  Don’t point out what all he did wrong.  He’s well aware.  Let God do the work in him that He plans to do.  By being the wife God created you to be, you will be aiding in God’s work.  Encourage and cheer him on.  He’s under enough pressure outside the home.  We should be his biggest fan and by fulfilling our divine calling as wives, we will be what Proverbs 12:4 says we will be.  “A virtuous woman is a crown to her husband.”  We would be such a blessing to our husband that he “would receive honor from other men as they admire and praise his handy wife”.  How awesome would that be!
So be the help meet God designed you to be.  Even if it’s hard to do.  Every little step counts.  Find the things to be thankful about and be joyous!  =)  Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

