How Do You Respond?

I learned something today!  For awhile now, I have been working at keeping calm, cool & collected when Hunter melts down.  It has taken A LOT of work.  I have learned a lot about self-control.  It’s not the easiest thing to do.  Today, Hunter had an episode.  We’ve been working with him on how he talks to us and others when he’s upset.  When he’s melting down, he doesn’t care who’s around and he will say all kinds of stuff.  He calls names, lists things that he hates and so on and so forth.  Today he started yelling at his dad and Tevis walked over to Hunter and tried to talk to him calmly.  Hunter, of course, wasn’t having anything of it.  He ran upstairs to hide.  I went upstairs and went into my room where he was and sat down on the bed.  I started to talk to him very softly and was explaining to him that his behavior was unacceptable and we don’t speak to each other like that.  Long story short, I told him that he needed to go down and apologize to his father for yelling at him.  I told him that we need to ask for forgiveness when we do wrong.  This led to a whole teachable moment about God’s forgiveness.
What I realized, is that it’s all about choice.  I’ve known it all along.  But today was different.  Something sunk in.  I can choose to respond to Hunter with an angry tone or a loving one.  I can choose to scream & yell or to talk softly.  The same applies to how we communicate with each other.  Whether we are always yelling or speaking with love.  We can respond to others in all sorts of ways.  We make the choice.  That choice can either make the situation better or make it worse.  Proverbs 15:1 says,  A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.  It’s a choice and it really comes down to self-control.   Being honest with yourself, how is your self-control?  Are you quick to respond harshly?
All this time, Hunter has been a lesson in one of the Fruits of The Spirit for me and I never noticed.  Thank you God for blessing me with such a wonderful son.  He’s a gift in more ways than one.

One response to “How Do You Respond?

  1. It was a blessing to read this Melissa! It really is all about choices. Thanks for sharing this! May God continue to bless you and your family in the journey you are in!

Leave a Reply

