The Faith Flower

Six years ago I fell in love with this wildflower that I kept seeing on the side of the road.  Every time we would go out, we would look for it and the only place that we could find it growing was on the roadside.  I had Tevis, my husband, stop on two occasions so I could pick one and try to take it home to plant.  By the time we got home, it had died.  Needless to say, this was just meant to be a flower that we were to admire from afar and not own.

On February 15, 2007, our daughter, Faith, was born still.  It was a very trying time for us to walk through and to understand.  We had Faith’s memorial service a month later.  We had poems read, Tevis and I sang, we had the attenders sing songs that our kids had picked and we released butterflies.  It was wonderful.  It was so neat to see those beautiful creatures fly upwards signifying our release of our daughter back to God.  He giveth and he taketh away.  The day after her memorial, I was sitting on the couch and I looked out the window to our front garden.  There by our porch, directly out my window was THE flower.  Growing.  Nowhere near a road.  A butterfly sitting on it.  We had tried to grow a butterfly garden to no avail and here was my flower WITH a butterfly.  God speaks to us in such amazing ways.  We named it the Faith Flower since God used it to speak to us during that time.

I let the flower grow and grow.  I was sad to have to leave it behind because in 2009, we moved to Wisconsin.  The day we moved I picked some of the flowers to take with us hoping to plant the seeds at our new home.  We manged to lose the flowers in the dashboard of the vehicle on the way up.  Go figure.  So, for the last 3 years we have had no sign of our flower.  There are some that look similar, but they are not our flower.  I’ve missed that flower.

This past week has been very stressful.  Between my bone marrow biopsy to other things within our lives we are facing some possible significant changes.  Broken spirits have abounded this week.  We are trying to stand firm on the promises that God has for us.  We had a big disappointment yesterday.  One that created a lot of turmoil in our home.  Yet, God is faithful.  As I was pulling out of the driveway this morning, I looked to my right to check on traffic, and there in the ditch on our property was our Faith Flower.  We have seen it nowhere for the last 3 years and here it is during our most stressful week.  I drove up and down the road thinking that surely it would be someplace else also, but no.  This was God telling us, “It’s okay.  I’ve got this.  I’m still here.”  A peace washed over me and I bawled my eyes out.  Of all the places and times for my flower to show up.  Here and now.  God’s timing is perfect.

Deuteronomy 31:6 says, “So be strong and courageous!  Do not be afraid and do not panic before them.  For the Lord your God will personally go ahead of you.  He will neither fail you nor abandon you.”  He’s with us through this and he will always be with us.  He will do the same for you.  He speaks to us is mysterious ways, but he is always speaking.  We just have to be listening.  =)  Be Blessed!

2 responses to “The Faith Flower

  1. This is beautiful! Don’t know all you are going through, but I will be lifting you up before the Lord! Thanks for sharing your heart!

Leave a Reply

