Doing The Extreme

My husband, Tevis, and I listened to Sun Stand Still by Steven Furtick.  What an amazing and challenging book!  It talks about having an “audacious faith”.  Some of the things that he was talking about kept playing over and over again in my mind and it got me thinking.
We had a lot of people who thought we were crazy to move 700 miles from home for a job in ministry that was only going to be part-time pay.  Excited for us, yes, but some still thought we were nuts.  I mean, we are a family of 4 with a special needs child.  Who does that anyway?  There were days where WE thought we were crazy for it also.  Yet, God had provided everything up to that point (I talked about that when I first started blogging).  He laid every stepping stone for us to step on and He still is laying those stones.
We have been back and forth about whether to put the kids in school and get second jobs and such.  Every time we have sat down and started to seriously talk about it and then start to put the wheels in motion, God has slammed that door.  I’m not talking a subtle close…a SLAM!  Does it make logical sense that we are to get by by the skin of our teeth?  No, but it makes perfect sense if we look at it through God’s eyes.  We have total reliance upon him.  He provides the extra that we need when we need it.  He provides each day’s provisions in all areas.  I don’t expect people to understand why we do the things we do or the choices that we make (not that they are all smart).  What I would like to be able to expect is respect of the decision of what we feel that God is so clearly asking of us to do right now.  There is a lot that he is doing in and through our family in ways that we know nothing about.  I struggle with it a lot though.  I go through the days where I throw a pity party for myself.  I haven’t had the best attitude about it.  Many of you who know me, KNOW I’ve showed my butt a few times about it.  I’m sorry.  I owe you an apology.  Please forgive me for not being the example that God asked me to be.  I have come to a point of acceptance, though.  That and I see the benefit of being obedient and I’m choosing to be just that.  Obedient.
So often we have this false belief that if we are doing God’s will and “working for God”, that we will not be inconvenienced by what he asked us to do (I fell into that category).  That we will have a nice, big house, drive a nice new car and be able to have all the new toys and gadgets.  Don’t get me wrong.  God wants to bless us more than we can imagine, but to believe that we will want for nothing and never have a struggle, is really misguided.  Honestly, I think that that mentality shows more of a worldly, materialistic viewpoint.
I was reading in Luke and that is what aided my thinking about this.   Luke 18:8-25 says, A certain ruler asked him, “Good teacher, what must I do to inherit eternal life?”  “Why do you call me good?” Jesus answered. “No one is good—except God alone. You know the commandments: ‘You shall not commit adultery, you shall not murder, you shall not steal, you shall not give false testimony, honor your father and mother.’  “All these I have kept since I was a boy,” he said.  When Jesus heard this, he said to him, “You still lack one thing. Sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”  When he heard this, he became very sad, because he was very wealthy.  Jesus looked at him and said, “How hard it is for the rich to enter the kingdom of God!  Indeed, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God.”
So, if God asked you to do something extremely out of the ordinary and walk with extreme faith and trust in him, could you do it?  Could you “sell everything you have” and go?  It’s hard.  We are a very blessed nation and I think that blinds us so much.  Missionaries over seas do with very little.  They are blessed more than we know, though.  Not with things but with their relationship that they have with God.  They have a faith that is amazing.  Their communion with God is deeper than many of us know.  I think not having all the material things clouding their perspective and view helps greatly.  They are much less SELF-reliant and more GOD-reliant.  I think we get that way (self-reliant) unknowingly.
We serve a great God and I want to be someone who puts myself aside and serves Him wholeheartedly!  To stand with the courage that He gives and walk in “audacious faith” when He calls me to do something out of the ordinary or extreme.  I want to be THAT servant!  How about you?  =)  Be Blessed!

Leave a Reply

